Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your postal code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Chris tutors in Melbourne, Australia

Chris C.

Private tutor in Melbourne, Australia

Education

I hold a Bachelor of Arts (hons.) from Monash University with a double major in English & Comparative Literature Studies. I am also CELTA (Cambridge 'Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults') and TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) certified. I strongly believe, however, that qualifications are far less important than my years of experience tutoring students one-on-one, as well as teaching classes of all sizes, abilities and nationalities!

Experience

Hiya! I am a qualified and experienced private tutor and classroom teacher (both secondary school and university) who has taught a range of classes including IELTS/PTE, Academic Writing, Literary Studies and General English. I have more than 10 years experience teaching English and Literature for several English colleges and schools, as well as universities including Monash University in Melbourne and RMIT's Bangkok campus in Thailand. If you are interested in developing your academic skills for school or university (in areas such as research, essay planning and writing, presentation and communication skills), I would love to help you with this. If you are interested in studying for an English exam like the IELTS or PTE, I have an excellent knowledge of both exam systems and can help you to significantly improve your test results. Most of my IELTS students achieve band scores of 6.5 and higher, and I carefully prepare and personalise my classes to suit your level of English/ability and experience, and to help you achieve your goals so that you can advance in your school/university studies or long-term visa/'permanent residency' (PR) plans as quickly as possible. I provide private IELTS and academic writing tuition at a rate of $40 per hour (with a minimum of 2 hours per private class). I also offer a discounted rate of $30 per hour ($300 in total) if you book a 10-hour course. This 10-hour course must be paid for in full during our first lesson. Please feel free to message or call me to discuss your academic/visa situation and study needs, or to book a class or 10-hour short course. I live in Camberwell, but can easily travel to the CBD, Glenferrie/Hawthorn area, Box Hill, etc. I am available most weekdays from morning until late, as well as certain times on weekends. Please feel free to text or call me on 0490-117-217 with any questions you may have or to arrange a class. I hope to hear from you soon!

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I love travelling through unique countries and was previously based in Bangkok, Thailand where I was fortunate enough to be able to spend my holidays and long weekends travelling through countries like Burma/Myanmar, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam and China. Apart from travel, I also love reading, researching and writing journalism, watching movies, painting and running. I've also been teaching myself the Thai language, although I'm still a long way from being a fluent speaker!

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!