Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your postal code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Lina tutors in Melbourne, Australia

Lina T.

Private tutor in Melbourne, Australia

5Lina T.

1 review

Education

Through an American Degree Program, I completed my Bachelors in Arts majoring in Psychology in 2008. I continued my education with a Bachelors in Science majoring in Psychology at LaTrobe University but then transferred to Victoria University to be closer to home. I graduated and was offered a scholarship to complete my Honors in Pharmacology. After my Honors years, I realised that I would much rather work with young adults than in a lab and pursued my Masters in Teaching Secondary. I completed my Masters in 2015 and continued personal development in Special Ed training.

Experience

I have been working for the past 3 years in an Autistic School and love my job. I tutor purely out of interest. I particularly love tutoring because I love the look students get when their eyes sparkle because they finally understood a concept. My aim is always to help students understand what their strengths are and how they can use these skills to learn about the world around them. The subjects I have completed in university include biological chemistry, biomedical chemistry, biology, many psychology subjects, Maths and statistic. I have been tutoring for the past 10 years and have tutored students from Year 7 to Year 12. My past students have been able to go from below average grades to scoring 80s in their exams. All I expect from my students is the commit to learn, and I will show them the method of acquiring new knowledge and scoring the marks they require. I am also experienced with exam preparation and am flexible to do classes later in the evening as well as on Saturdays. I also speak three other languages fluently, so if you can't understand in English, I can still explain it in Mandarin, Malay or Tamil.

Availability

Weekdays after 5PM, Saturday at any time

Can Meet

Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge, Up to 30 minutes away for a flat fee, Up to 1 hour away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

In my free time, I enjoy paper crafting and baking. I make photo albums and handmade cards. I am on a design team and blog about my creations. Besides this, I love baking and making editable decorations. I believe because my occupation is very logical and structured, I seem to enjoy being creative during my free time. Besides these interests, I love reading help-self and coaching books to better understand myself as well as people around me.

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!