Emma tutors in Melbourne, Australia

Emma L.

Private tutor in Melbourne, Australia

Education

September 2012-Present: Full-time Primary Teacher at Weston All Saints Primary School (CURRENTLY ON YEAR LONG SABBATICAL LEAVE) September 2011-July 2012: Full-time Maths Teacher at Malmesbury School September 2010-July 2011, Bath Spa University: Secondary Mathematics PGCE 2009-2010: Marjons, Plymouth: Mathematics Enhancement Course 2005-2009 University of Bath: BSc (Hons) Psychology- First Class 2003-2005 Truro College: International Baccalaureate- 41 Points 1998-2003 Penair School, Truro: 11 GCSEs- All A*

Experience

In addition to four years experience as a full-time class teacher in the UK from September 2011 until July 2015, I have 5+ years tutoring experience, for which I can provide excellent references. This includes: 2009-2011: Tutoring maths to pupils in Y5 and Y7 with a focus on boosting confidence and supplementing class work. 2012: Tutoring maths to a pupil working towards his GCSE maths (UK post-16 exam)- he was successful in meeting his target grade. 2012: Tutoring English and Maths to a 9 year old pupil with a focus on fostering an enjoyment for the subject and boosting his confidence. 2013: Tutoring maths to a pupil working towards his GCSE maths (UK post-16 exam)- he was successful in meeting his target grade. 2015: Intense summer holiday tutoring to a 10-year-old boy with the aim of preparing him for his 11+ exams which he will be taking in January 2016. Present: Tutoring all subjects, primarily maths, to a 9th Grade pupil in Melbourne.

Availability

Mon/Wed/Fri after 4PM, Weekends after 12 Noon

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

Hi there, My name is Emma Lowe, I'm 28, and I've been a full-time teacher in the UK for four years- one year teaching secondary maths (11-18 year olds) and three years teaching primary (8-10 year olds). In the primary setting I taught all subjects, with a specialism in maths. I have been granted a year's sabbatical leave from my current teaching job, in which I lead Year 5, in order to move to Melbourne with my partner for the year. Although I won't be teaching this year in a full-time setting, I hope to continue to pursue my passion for teaching through private tutoring alongside supply teaching. I have many years of tutoring experience (see above for details), in addition to my class teaching experience. My teaching style is focused on engaging and enthusing pupils towards their learning, through a variety of fun and interesting activities and games based around the set learning objectives. I believe that pupils should enjoy and look forward to their sessions with me in addition to making excellent progress. With younger pupils I always ensure sessions are divided into short, sharp focused sessions with educational games in between. I like pupils to be involved in making decisions about their preferred learning style and methods as far as possible. I am qualified and experienced to teach any subject at primary level. My specialist secondary subject is Maths. For younger secondary pupils I focus sessions on constructing strong relational understanding of mathematical concepts, and fostering a love of maths through investigative and practical work where appropriate. For pupils working towards VCE exams, I would again focus on establishing a strong understanding of the necessary concepts, as well as lots of practice with the style of questions presented in the exam. I can provide excellent references from both my UK employer (Weston All Saints Primary School) and families who I am presently tutoring for and have tutored for in the past. I am available for tutoring sessions in the evenings. If you have any other questions, or would like to meet up to discuss how I can help you or your child, please don't hesitate to contact me by email :)

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!