Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your postal code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Melissa tutors in Melbourne, Australia

Melissa J.

Private tutor in Melbourne, Australia

5Melissa J.

5 reviews

Education

Being tertiary focused, I coach adults in English exam preparation (IELTS, PTE, FCE & CAE), literacy testing (LANTITE, entrance exams) and academic writing for university assessments, including essay exams such as RANZCP CEQ. Services span assessment planning, support, proofing and feedback for a wide range of degrees as well as guidance on job applications, interview preparation, resume writing, presentation skills and report writing for business professionals. I have attained the highest award as teacher, am a teacher trainer and curriculum designer, and also have educational management experience as the principal administrator = I'm very educated and experienced! Renowned for teaching academic competency and English test taking, experience has largely been focused on Academic English (EAP, test prep, RANZCP CEQ, TESOL, study skills) Business English & Management as well as General English (ELICOS, AMEP, VET). I have a very calming manner and an engaging wealth of materials. Having recently moved back to Melbourne from Queensland, I am keen to share my expertise. I can accommodate for online learning and submissions as well. * Master in Education, specialising in Leading and Managing Organisations (MEdLeadership). * IELTS Examiner / Assessor * PostGraduate Diploma in Education specialising in ESL and SOSE methods (P.Grad.Dip.Ed secondary) * Double Major Bachelor in Arts / Asian Studies with Linguistics, Indonesian Language, Anthropology and Asian History (B.A/AsSt) * Cert IVs in TAE40110 (with LLN) and Small Business Management * current ‘Working with Children Check’ card (nationally scoped) as well as the Queensland ‘Blue Card’

Experience

As teacher I have attained the highest award with reputable providers in Universities, TAFE as well as private ELICOS and EAL tertiary institutions. My clients have included university students, international students, new migrants, refugees, local youth, student teachers and business, education and health professionals. I'm very experienced in IELTS / PTE / FCE / CAE / Literacy & CEQ preparation and test taking strategies as well as the RANZCP, ISLPR, IELTS and CEFR rubrics. I have published educational resources online and in print which are still in circulation today and have authored nationally accredited curriculum. Our session content will be negotiated and suited for your particular learning style and desired outcomes, with the flexibility to be face-to face, blended, online or simply to correct online submissions in a timely manner. In order to improve as quickly as possible I will provide you with fresh writing, grammar, reading & listening tasks and additional study materials outside of each meeting so that the majority of our time together is spent on feedback and coaching. Tuition rates current as of March 2019 are: $65 per hour face to face $300 discounted rate for 5 hours tuition paid in advance in bulk $55 per hour for online tuition, academic revision & editing. Payment must be made in advance. Educational claim fees can also be negotiated for groups and worksite training. *** CANDIDATES for PTE & IELTS (BANDS 6.5-9.0) ONLY *** I also deliver specialised, interactive workshops in PTE & IELTS WRITING (General and Academic), Grammar, Speaking and Reading, focused on high band scores only in Melbourne CBD and surrounds. Cost is $35 per hour to join the class (This is not private tuition). You are welcome to join at any time and attend casually, with sessions available until to mid-December 2019. At present these workshops are scheduled on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday afternoon-evenings and Sunday daytime. Please feel free to message or call me on 0481317231 with any questions or to arrange a class. I prefer to meet in the CBD, but can travel at an additional cost. I am usually available daytime and weeknights from 10am - 8pm. Other times can be negotiated for online study. I look forward to meeting you and gain great satisfaction from seeing my clients achieve!

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 10 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

Extensive travel through more than 20 countries. Previously lived and taught in Yogyakarta, Indonesia and Salvador, Brazil. Also taught in Singapore. Love Australia, camping and nature trails. I previously owned small businesses in the fashion industry, both retail and wholesale and still enjoy being creative through fashion and textile design and decor. 20 years' experience in events management. For example, I regularly organised and managed fashion industry sales events, exhibitions and parades over 7 years for Melbourne’s most esteemed fashion festivals - Melbourne Spring Fashion Week (MSFW) and L’Oreal Melbourne Fashion Festival (LMFF). Also participated in music performances for various community and cultural festivals and crewed for outdoor parties. I'm very active and young-at-heart with a passion for meditation, travel, bushwalking, writing, creative study, eating out, music and socialising.

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!